Lagos Assembly replaces sacked principal officers

•Suspended lawmakers blocked from entering complex

Lagos State House of Assembly has suspended two of its principal officers, the Chief Whip, Rotimi Abiru and Deputy Majority Leader Olumuyiwa Jimoh.

Two members, Moshood Oshun (Lagos Mainland Constituency 2) and Kazeem Raheem Adewale (Ibeji Lekki Constituency 2) were suspended indefinitely during plenary yesterday.

Speaker Mudashiru Obasa said that the House was the hope of the people and the heartbeat of democracy, adding that it should be well guided.

Said he: “I hereby invoke Section 68 and Section 70 4 (a, b) 2 and 3 of the House rules in respect of gross misconduct, insubordination and action that can destablise this House. I hereby move that Hon. Moshood Oshun and Hon. Raheem Adewale be placed on suspension indefinitely.”

The decisions were supported through voice votes by the members present during plenary.

The request for the removal of the two principal officers and change in the leadership was contained in a letter read on the floor of the Assembly by the Clerk, Mr. Azeez Sanni.

He (Sanni) said that the 26 members who signed the letter wished to notify the House “to change the leadership of the Assembly, including Hon. Rotimi Abiru as the Chief Whip and Deputy Chief Whip Olumuyiwa Jimoh.”

The removal of the principal officers and suspension of the two members came amid speculation that there were critical issues that could divide the House and “that more revelations may be made in the coming days.”

About Daily Record

Check Also

Wema Bank: As CEO, others swim in money laundering scandal, HR Officer allegedly enslaves junior staff

For one of Nigeria’s troubled financial institutions, Wema Bank Plc, it has been a tale of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *